State of Origin 2020 Dates and Venues Confirmed

State of Origin
State of Origin

After much speculation, Australia’s biggest annual rugby league event has been confirmed to take place in November 2020 across three different states. The best-of-three series between Queensland and New South Wales, which usually takes place mid-year, has been pushed back due to the coronavirus pandemic and will now take place after the NRL Grand Final.

The first game will be played at Adelaide Oval on November 4th, the second game at ANZ Stadium in Sydney on November 11th and the final game will be played at Suncorp Stadium in Brisbane on November 18th. Fox League reporter James Hooper announced the news on NRL 360.

This year marks the 40th Anniversary of Origin and will be the first time the game has been played in South Australia.

“State of Origin is the greatest rivalry in Australian sport and Australia’s most watched television event,” NRL Chief Executive Officer Andrew Abdo said. “It transcends the two states and captivates the interests of the entire nation. We are excited to play this historic game in South Australia for the very first time.”

“In recent years Origin has captivated Melbourne and Perth and we cannot wait to see how the people of Adelaide respond. The interest from states, outside NSW and Queensland, to host our showpiece event is extraordinary.”

Fans are yet to hear exactly which players will be making up this year’s Origin teams and what crowd capacities will be allowed.

The Women’s State of Origin will be played as a standalone fixture at the Sunshine Coast Stadium on November 13th, following the conclusion of the NRL Women’s Premiership season.

November is looking to be a massive month for Aussie sport.